The Battle of Saragarhi: Unparalleled Bravery of Sikhs in 1897


The Battle of Saragarhi is an inspiring chapter in the history of India that depicts the unparalleled bravery and courage of Sikh soldiers. It was fought on September 12, 1897, between the British Indian Army and the Pashtun tribesmen in the North-West Frontier Province (present-day Pakistan). The battle took place in the remote region of the Samana Range, in the Tirah region of the North-West Frontier Province.

The British Indian Army had established a series of forts along the border to maintain their control over the region, and one such fort was the Saragarhi Fort. It was manned by 21 Sikh soldiers from the 36th Sikh Regiment who were under the command of Havildar Ishar Singh. The Pashtun tribesmen, who were opposed to the British rule, decided to launch an attack on the fort.

The Sikh soldiers at the Saragarhi Fort were well aware of the impending danger, and they braced themselves for the fight. The Pashtun tribesmen launched their attack on the fort with a force of around 10,000 men. However, the Sikh soldiers fought back with unmatched courage and bravery, and they managed to hold off the attackers for several hours.

Despite being heavily outnumbered, the Sikh soldiers at the Saragarhi Fort refused to give up. They fought fiercely, displaying their valor and dedication to their duty. They repulsed wave after wave of attacks, and even after running out of ammunition, they continued to fight with their swords and spears.

The battle at Saragarhi was one of the fiercest battles fought by the Indian Army, and it lasted for around seven hours. The Pashtun tribesmen were ultimately able to breach the walls of the fort, and they managed to kill all the Sikh soldiers who were defending it. However, the Pashtun tribesmen suffered heavy losses, and they were unable to achieve their objective of capturing the fort.

The Battle of Saragarhi is a testament to the bravery and courage of the Sikh soldiers who fought valiantly to defend their post. It is a story of unmatched heroism and sacrifice that has been etched in the annals of Indian history.

The names of the 21 Sikh soldiers who lost their lives defending the Saragarhi Fort are:

  1. Havildar Ishar Singh
  2. Naik Lal Singh
  3. Lance Naik Chanda Singh
  4. Sepoy Sundar Singh
  5. Sepoy Ram Singh
  6. Sepoy Uttar Singh
  7. Sepoy Sahib Singh
  8. Sepoy Hira Singh
  9. Sepoy Daya Singh
  10. Sepoy Jivan Singh
  11. Sepoy Bhola Singh
  12. Sepoy Narayan Singh
  13. Sepoy Gurmukh Singh
  14. Sepoy Jivan Singh
  15. Sepoy Gurmukh Singh
  16. Sepoy Ram Singh
  17. Sepoy Bhagwan Singh
  18. Sepoy Bhagwan Singh
  19. Sepoy Buta Singh
  20. Sepoy Jivan Singh
  21. Sepoy Nand Singh

The Battle of Saragarhi is a shining example of the bravery and sacrifice of the Indian soldiers who have always been willing to lay down their lives to defend their country and its people. The valor and courage of the Sikh soldiers who fought in the Battle of Saragarhi continue to inspire generations of Indians, and their names will forever be remembered with respect and honor.

Previous Story

Ryan Arcand : Edmonton’s piano man

Next Story

SPARSH : Indian defense pension system’s SCAM portal.